State Pmga Play


In a state qualifying two-man scramble the team of Frank Szakal and Phil Wagner swung their way to low-gross honors while Popeye Clay and Jim Dalgleish took the low-net title.

The winners of the Sept. 23 fray will represent the Payson Men’s Golf Association in the upcoming Arizona State Tournament.

Szakal and Wagner joined forces to post a gross 66, while Clay and Dalgleish carded a low net 56.6. Terry Lindsey and Gary Rovetto took second in low-net play with a 57. With a 57.8, Troy Neal and Ed Flores were third. Don Castleman and Jack Greenshield pocketed fourth-place prize money finishing at 58.8.

In closest-to-the-pin competition, Bill Shedd had the best effort swatting to within 7 feet, 1 inch of an ace on No. 17. Other winners were Troy Neal (No. 2; 11 feet, 2 inches), Ross Robertson (No. 5; 13 feet, 6 inches), Ed West (No. 8; 8 feet, 5 inches) and Greenshield (No. 14; 11 feet, 1 inch).

In addition to state tournament play, the PMGA members have selected their officers for the 2010 season, Gary Vaplon was elected president and Phil Wagner vice president. Don Kisseberth will serve as secretary and Terry Lindsey is the new treasurer.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.