Five Longhorns Earn State Honors


Only five Longhorn football players earned honors in the coaches’ All-Star selection.

Payson Herring, Jake Gonzales, Westin Gibson, Gunner Bauer and Chase Walden were named.

Payson Herring was the only Horn to earn a first-team berth among offensive players.

Jake Gonzales took an offensive second-team slot. On the defensive side, Westin Gibson and Gunner Bauer were named to the second team.

Chase Walden was an honorable mention among defensive players.

Coach of the Year was George De La Torre of Florence. Offensive Player of the Year was Rathan Ricedorf of Show Low, while Defensive Player of the Year was Alex Stebbins of Blue Ridge.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.