Marathon Golf Ends


It took Payson Men’s Golf Association members three rounds and almost a month to complete the annual Match Play tournament, but the results are in and the champions have been crowned.

The tournament opened on July 7, continued July 14 and wrapped up July 21 at Payson Golf Course.

In A flight, Mike McKee took first 6-5, over Jesse Smith.

Gary Vaplon won B flight honors, one up over Herb Sherman.

In C flight, Keith Talley outplayed runner-up Ralph Lindo, 2-1.

D flight honors were garnered by Ted Walls’ 4-3 vs. silver medalist Ron Fischer.

Don Gyde took a 6-5 win over E flight runner-up Morris Kropf.

In the A flight wildcat bracket, Tim Ernst was a 4-3 winner over second-place finisher Troy Neal.

Popeye Clay won 2-1 against Doug Talbot in B flight.

In C flight Russ Morris was a 3-2 victor vs. Ralph Lindo.

Ed West survived 3-2 against Dick Ceyler in D flight.

In other PMGA action on July 21 at PGC, Terry Lindsey took first in A flight low gross competition with a 75.

In low net, Ken Althoff swung his was to the gold medal with a 66.

Posting a 70, Ed Flores was second.

In B flight, a 91 was good enough for Bill Shedd to take home the low gross title.

Ross Robertson was the low net winner at 69.

Carding a 71, Al Lyons was third.

Closest-to-the-pin winners during the three weeks were:

July 7:

No. 2, Jack Greenshield, 2 feet, 8-1/2 inches

No. 5, Troy Neal, 4 feet, 8 inches

No. 8, Larry Smith, 5 feet, 5 inches

No. 14, Ron Fisher, 9 feet, 1 inch

No. 17, Frank Szakal, 7 feet

July 14:

No. 2, Don Castleman, 21 feet, 8 inches

No. 5, Jessie Smith, 4 feet, 3 inches

No. 8, Popeye Clay, 10 feet, 8-1/2 inches

No. 14, Don Gyde, 6 feet, 2 inches

No. 17, Ken Althoff, 6 feet, 2 inches

July 21 (finals):

No. 2, Tim Ernst, 10 feet, 7 inches

No. 5, Troy Neal, 19 feet, 1 inch

No. 8, Ken Althoff, 1 inch

No. 14, Jesse Smith, 5 feet, 6 inches

No. 17, Ken Althoff, 8 feet, 3 inches

PMGA members return to the links tomorrow, July 28, in a flighted interclub meet at PGC.

On Aug. 4 and Aug. 11, the annual Club Championship will be contested in match play, scratch format over two rounds.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.