Payson High Seniors Earn $1 Million In Scholaships


Rim Country high school graduates have earned more than $1 million in scholarships this year.

From Payson Center For Success, the following students earned money for school:

Nerissa Kueny earned a Kiwanis Scholarship valued at least at $1,000 and a Payson Rim Rock Club $1,000 scholarship.

Nicole Helmick earned a $500 American Legion Auxilliary Scholarship, a $500 Chance Amon Memorial Scholarship, and a $500 Pinal Gila Community Child Services Council Scholarship.

Genny Eckstein won a $1,000 scholarship.

Nicole Helmick received the $500 Dr. Howard Ray Memorial Scholarship from the Optimist Club.

Christian Amato won a $500 Chance Amon Memorial Scholarship.

Payson High School students also received many scholarships.

Justin Richardson won a $14,000 scholarship from the Arizona Culinary Institute in Scottsdale.

Reghan Flake won the $1,000 Daughters of Gila County Pioneers Pioneer Heritage Scholarship Award.

Logan Garner received a $1,500 Jack Morris Memorial Scholarship.

Nicole Scott and Brett Goodwin each won $1,500 from the Kiwanis Club of Tonto Basin.

Nicole Scott and Joshua Porter each won a $1,000 Optimist, Rotary and Kiwanis Scholarship. Holly West received a $500 scholarship from the service clubs.

Kristina Vohs and Joshua Porter each won $750 from Payson Moose Lodge #852 and Women of the Moose Lodge #852.

Kori Phylow won a $1,000 Rim Country Rotary-Payson Jim Jones Memorial Scholarship.

Elaine Olszewski won a $500 Beth Leeds Memorial Scholarship awarded by Rim Country Optimist.

Amber Clark won a $1,000 Bill Davis Memorial Scholarship from Rim Country Optimist.

Nickolas Randall won a $500 “What Drives You?” Jiffy Lube Scholarship.

Elizabeth Luna and Nicole Scott each won $1,000 from the Payson APS Employee Scholarship Foundation.

The following scholarships were awarded by the Kiwanis Club of Zane Grey Country:

Amber Clark, $1,000; Michelle Daniels, $1,500; Reghan Flake, $1,500; Brett Goodwin, $1,500 Key Club Scholarship; Madelyn Nossek, $1,500; Nickolas Randall, $1,500; Lucy Schouten, $1,500; Nicole Scott, $2,500 Key Club Scholarship; and Kristina Vohs, $1,500 Key Club Scholarship.

Amber Clark and Reghan Flake each earned $1,000 Rotary Club of Payson scholarships.

Reghan Flake, Ciara Romance and Kristina Vohs will each receive $500 Lacey Balmer Oldland Memorial Scholarships.

The following students won Mogollon Health Alliance Health Scholarships: James Behrens, $500; Audrie Bott, $500; Amber Clark, $500; Reghan Flake, $500; Kayla Kral, $700; Madelyn Nossek, $800; Ciara Romance, $800; Nicole Scott, $500; Chandler Sylvester, $400.

Kayla Kral won the $500 Gila Foundation for Higher Education Doyle Coffee Scholarship.

Brett Goodwin, Nickolas Randall and Kristina Vohs each received $500 in Gila Foundation for Higher Education and Rim Country Rotary-Payson Annual Scholarships.

Logan Garner received a $250 Gila Foundation for Higher Education and Kiwanis Club of Payson Annual Scholarship.

Michelle Daniels, Kayla Francis, Clifford Lopez, Lucy Schouten and Kristina Vohs each earned $800 from the Gila County Pioneer Committee and Richard Alvarez Scholarship.

Lucy Schouten won a $500 Orion Scholarship for Excellence from the Orion Project of Payson Rotary Club.

Madelyn Nossek and Joshua Porter each won $2,500 scholarships from the Central Arizona Board of Realtors.

Aaron Meidinger, Chandler Sylvester and Kristina Vohs each won $1,000 Elks Lodge #2154 B.P.O.E. Elks Most Valuable Student Scholarships.

Brett Goodwin, Reghan Flake, Clifford Lopez, Kori Phylow and Nickolas Randall each won $1,000 Payson Pro Rodeo Committee Scholarships.

The following students won Mogollon Sporting Association Ted Pettet Scholarships: Madelyn Nossek, $2,000; Kyndel Lann, $100, Dakota Marshall, $2,000; Logan Garner, $100.

Audrie Bott won a $500 Sarah Salwitz Fine Arts Scholarship.

Nicholas Walker won a $500 Knights of Columbus Council #9995 Scholarship.

Collette Sexton and Logan Garner each won $100 Arizona Photo Solutions Scholarships.

Kristina Vohs won a $500 Payson Lions Club Memorial Scholarship.

Nicole Scott won a $2,000 scholarship from Health Occupations Students of America Kidney Wise Scholarship.

Elizabeth Luna won a $2,500 Ronald McDonald House Scholarship.

Nicole Scott won a $20,000 Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation Scholarship.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.