East Region Coaches Honor Lady Longhorns


The laurels are flowing in for members of the Lady Longhorn softball team.

A trio, including Mary Hagen, Taylor Petersen and Rylee Halenar, were chosen All-East first team.

Kaitlin Wessel was named to the second team and Chrissy Heron and Kyl Sanders received honorable mention recognition.

The All-East players were chosen in a voting of region coaches at the conclusion of the season.

Petersen, only a freshman, was also named 3A All-State.

Also on the All-State team from the East are Renee LaPoint, Rani Gambo and Kaylee Keith of Show Low and Snowflake’s Tori Hill and Brooklyn Rogers. State champion Winslow dominated the All-State team with five players chosen.

Santa Cruz’s Tiffany Ibarra was named the 3A Offensive Player of the Year and Winslow Jennifer Yazzie chosen the Defensive POY.

According to the most recent PHS team 2010 stats, Hagen compiled a 3.72 ERA that included 130 strikeouts and 56 walks in 154 innings. During the campaign, she threw two shutouts and four one-run games.

Individually, Wessel was a vital cog in the Lady Horn offense with a team-high .631 on base percentage and a .335 batting average.

Halenar, a left-handed slap hitter who usually batted lead off, had the second best OBP on the team at .575. She also hit at a .368 clip.

Petersen led the Longhorns in hitting with a .409 standard that included a school-record 12 home runs. Her finest day at the plate might have been May 1 in a regular-season ending win over Round Valley. In the victory, she slapped two home runs, one of which was a grand slam and the other a three-run blast. She finished the day with eight RBIs.

Hagen hit .323, Heron .302 and Sanders .326.

As a team, the Lady Longhorns advanced to state as the 16th and final seed pitted against No. 2 Estrella Foothills. Payson fell from the tournament in the first round, losing 12-2 to EF.

Estrella went on to advance to the state championship game where the Valley-area school lost a 4-3 heartbreaker to Winslow.

The Lady Longhorns will gather one final time on May 26 for the traditional awards ceremony.

Coach Will Dunman will soon announce the start time and location.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.