Ernst And Neal Battle For Ctp Record


Payson Men’s Golf Association standout Tim Ernst has posted his 11th closest-to-the-pin win giving him a legitimate shot at breaking the record 14 wins set last season Troy Neal.

This season, Neal has nine CtP victories and there are those who argue he shouldn’t be counted out of the race to win again this year.

“Tim has lots of time to break Troy’s record, but I feel Troy has been motivated to run off a few CtPs himself,” said PMGA spokesman Herb Sherman. “We shall see.”

Also in closest-to-the-pin action in a low gross-low net tournament play Aug. 17 at PGC, Steve Vincent pulled off what Sherman calls “double dipping” or pocketing closest-to-the-pin prize money on two holes.

On No. 14, his tee shot came up just 5 feet, 2 inches shy of an ace and on No. 2 he was victorious with an effort of 26 feet, 2 inches.

Other winners on the day were Popeye Clay (No. 8; 8 feet, 6 inches) and Doug Talbot (No. 17; 2 feet, 8 inches).

The tournament’s A flight low net competition was highlighted by a toe-to-toe battle involving Neal and Ron Fisher.

At the end of 18 holes, the two were dead-knotted with identical scores of 68.

On a scorecard playoff Fisher took first and Neal fell to second.

In B flight low net action, Ed Flores posted a 64 and was first. With a 67, Doug Talbot was second.

John Calderwood carded a 64 to finish first in C flight. Don Gyde’s 69 earned him a second-place finish.

Low gross winners were Ernst (A; 76), Clay (B; 83) and Bill Mullins (C; 93).

Poker play

The boys of summer are at it again.

But these “boys” are not playing baseball in summer leagues rather they are Payson Men’s Golf Association members engaged in an “ABCD Poker” formatted tournament on Aug. 10 at Payson Golf Course.

In this poker game, the best single score on par 5s, best two on par 3s and best three on par 4s were scored.

Playing in foursomes, the team of Terry Lindsey, Bill Mullins, Jim Livingstone and Popeye Clay was first.

Tim Ernst, Dave Rutter, Don Gyde and Gary Campbell were second.

In third, was the team of Oscar Garcia, Richard Harding, Ed Flores and John Calderwood.

In the battle for closest-to-the-pin prize money, Jim Livingston had the best shot of the day rolling to within 2 feet, 4-1/2 inches on No. 17.

On No. 8, Herb Sherman stroked a tee shot that was just 6 feet, 2 inches shy of an ace.

Other winners were Mike Eilenfeldt (No. 2; 16 feet, 5 inches), Frank Szakal (No. 14; 8 feet, 10-1/2 inches) and Clay (No. 5; 15 feet).

Also on Aug. 10, Richard Harding defeated Ed Flores one up for the D Flight Club Championship.

The tournament was actually played July 13, 20 and 27 when the A, B, C and Yellow Flight champions were crowned.

In it, Jesse Smith took A flight honors defeating Tim Ernst. Troy Neal played his way to first place in the B flight outdueling runner-up Russ Morris.

Gary Rovetto took the C flight crown defeating silver medalist Steve Vincent.

In the Yellow flight, Ed West was first and Dave Rutter second.

Due to schedule conflicts, Flores and Harding couldn’t meet until later.

PMGA members return today, Aug. 23, to PGC for the first round of the annual President’s Cup. The tournament wraps up Aug. 31.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.