Coaches Pick All-State, Hold Off On All-Stars


The Arizona Football Coaches Association announced last week its 3A Conference All-State team selections, but will wait until February to make public the seniors chosen to participate in the annual 1A-3A North vs. South All-Star game to be played in June.

The all-stars were chosen during a coaches meeting on Dec. 18.

Those players chosen to the 3A All-State team will be honored at an awards luncheon to be held Jan. 7 at the Scottsdale Hilton Resort.

No Payson players were named to the all-state team, even though the Horns had at least two strong candidates in Payson Herring and Westin Gibson.

The two, however, could still be selected to play in the AzFCA All-Star game.

Team members for the offense are:

RB - Chase Russell - Blue Ridge

RB - Seth Ellis (Jr) - Coolidge

OL - Sheldon Jacks - Blue Ridge

OL - Tyler Bode - Fountain Hills

OL - Cody Carlson - Blue Ridge

OL - Nick Krause - Fountain Hills

OL - Chris Pacheco - Snowflake

WR - Kyle Washington - Florence

WR - Rulon Udall - Round Valley

WR - Josh Weeks (Jr) - Show Low

Selected for the defense are:

DB - Jordan Morgan - Blue Ridge

DB - Nick Johnson - Blue Ridge

DB - Kyle Washington - Florence

DB - Trevor Reddick - Snowflake

LB - Alex Stebbins - Blue Ridge

LB - Trevor MacArthur - Show Low

LB - Nick Williams - Blue Ridge

DL - Sheldon Jacks - Blue Ridge

DL - Justin Nikolaus - Show Low

DL - Cade Clemons - Florence

DL - Jevon Estelle - Winslow

Named to the special team are:

P - Jordan Morgan - Blue Ridge

K - Nick Johnson - Blue Ridge

R - Kyle Washington - Florence


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.