Supervisors Select County Redistricting Committee


Another mile marker on the long road to redistricting has been reached by Gila County.

The board of supervisors selected its nine-member redistricting committee and named a roster of six alternates at its March 1 meeting.


District One Supervisor Tommie Martin selected James Muhr, a Republican, residing in Payson; David Prechtel, Republican, residing in Pine; and Mike Vogel, a Democrat, residing in Payson. She named Paul Bates, a Republican, of Payson, and Christine Harrison, a Democrat, of Payson, as alternates.

District Two Supervisor Mike Pastor, chairman of the board of supervisors, named Curtis Johnson, a Democrat, Miami; Adelaido Rodriguez, a Democrat, Globe; and Joseph Skamel, party not declared, Globe. As alternates he selected William Byrne, Democrat, Globe, and Linda Pearce, Democrat, Claypool.

District Three Supervisor Shirley Dawson selected Thomas Moody, Independent, Globe; Robert Pastor, Democrat, Globe; and Loretta Stone, party not declared, Globe. As alternates, Dawson named Gary Andress, Democrat, Claypool, and Robert Hibbert, Republican, Star Valley.

Bryan Chambers, deputy county attorney, told the supervisors the redistricting guidelines had no provision for alternates, so should one be needed they will have to formally appoint the individual.


Dan Haapala 5 years, 10 months ago

Recognizing several of the names, I am hopeful that intelligent discussions will evolve from this committee of appointed ones. Their inquiry and discussion, and ultimately their recommendations will have a profound affect on the next decade of Gila County politics. All of the electorate should watch these preceedings very closely and be involved. involved. It is more critical then ever to assure fairness in our County Government.


Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.