County Redistricting Has 6 North, 6 South Members Now


Gila County’s nine-member redistricting committee now has 12 members — six from the north and six from the south.

The change was made at the March 15 meeting of the board of supervisors.

Added to the committee were Robert Dalby of Payson, named by Chairman Mike Pastor; James Feezor, Payson, named by District One Supervisor Tommie Martin; and Roberto Sanchez, Star Valley, named by District Three Supervisor Shirley Dawson.

One of Pastor’s initial selections for the committee, Curtis Johnson of Miami, resigned due to getting a job with the county. The chairman of the board named Gary Andress of Claypool as Johnson’s replacement.

The expansion was made at the urging of Linda Eastlick, elections director.

“Following in-depth discussions about appropriate representation of County residents, it has been determined that the number of Redistricting Advisory Committee members should increase from nine to twelve,” wrote Eastlick in the documentation for the agenda item.

The boundaries for Pastor’s and Dawson’s districts are drawn in such a way that both represent northern Gila County residents, so therefore they could select their added choices from the area. Neither chose to name northern Gila County residents during the first selection process March 1 —Dawson did name a Star Valley citizen as one of her alternates.

The committee will be responsible for several months of work to redraw the boundaries for the supervisor, community college and vocational education districts.

The committee will have its first meeting at 5:30 p.m., Tuesday, March 22 at the county maintenance yard east of Star Valley. It is scheduled to meet with the county’s redistricting consultants Bruce Adelson of Federal Compliance Consulting and Tony Sissons of Research Advisory Services.

The meeting is open to the public.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.