Students Earn Scholarships

Twins Liz Romberger and her brother Eric paused and posed as they waited in line to receive their diplomas.

Twins Liz Romberger and her brother Eric paused and posed as they waited in line to receive their diplomas. Photo by Andy Towle. |


This year, students at Payson High School received $1,167,000 in scholarships. Of that, nearly $60,000 came from local organizations. Scholarships ranged from $250 up to $4,000, according to Payson High School officials.

Local scholarships include:

Careers Through Culinary Arts Program – $3,000 to Leticia Martinez

Gila County CowBelles Scholarship – $1,000 to Angela Moody-Lowery

Rim Country Optimist-Bill Davis Memorial Scholarship – $1,000 to Amber Bucanek

Big Brothers Big Sisters High School Bigs of the Year Scholarships – Daniel Conley, $1,000; Cherie Van Camp, $1,000; Caleb Harrison, $250; Perla Guereque, $250

Rim Country Optimist Beth Champie/Laura Meterian Scholarship – $1,000 to Trinity England

Rim Country Optimist Scholarship – $1,000 to Chelsea York

Gila County Pioneer and Richard Alvarez Scholarship – $1,000 each to Cheyenne Cherry, Cody Bossert, Angela Fayth Moody-Lowery and Trinity England

Gila Foundation For Higher Education Vocational Scholarship – $250 each to Cody Bossert and Jenna Wolf

Greater Payson Moose Lodge Loyal Order of Moose 852 and Women of the Moose Chapter 2012 Scholarship – $500 to Chelsea York

Betty Steiber Memorial Scholarship – $2,000 to Paula Scott

Don Crowley Memorial Scholarship – $3,500 to Daniel Conley, $2,000 to Caleb Harrison, $1,500 to Angie Lowery and Chelsea York

Daughters of Gila County Pioneers Heritage Scholarship – $1,000 to Chancee Kay Morris

Worth and Dot Howard Foundation Scholarship – $1,000 to Chelsea York

Rim Country Rotary Jim Jones Memorial Scholarship – $1,000 to Cody Bossert

Jack Morris Memorial Scholarship – $1,500 to Chancee Kay Morris

Central Arizona Board of Realtors Scholarship – $2,500 each to Jed Anthony Ward and Kelsey Loree Waugh

Ted Pettet-Mogollon Sporting Association Scholarship – $1,000 each to Kelsey Waugh and Lauren Nossek and $2,000 to Justin Moratti

Payson Rodeo Committee Scholarship – $1,000 each to Payson Herring, Cheyenne Cherry, Jessica James, Angie Lowery, Chancee Kay Morris and James Thornhill

Mogollon Health Alliance – Cody Bossert and Chelsea York each received $800. Kaila Costello, Russell Hintze, Jenna Wolf and Kelsey Waugh received $500 each and Trinity England, $400

Knights of Columbus, council #9995 – $500 to Perla Guereque

Gisela Valley Community Affairs Association Scholarship – $500 to Leticia Martinez

Elks National Foundation Scholarships – Daniel Conley, $1,000; Jacquelyn Oesterblad, $4,000 and Kelsey Waugh, $1,000

Lacey Balmer Oldland Memorial Scholarships – $500 each to Amber Marie Bucanek, Caleb Laird, Angie Lowery and Chelsea Patricia York

Payson Unified School District Recognition Award – undisclosed amount for Payson Herring

Sarah Salwitz Fine Arts Scholarship – $599 to Zane Wiles

Payson APS Employee Scholarship Foundation – $1,000 to Trinity England

Kiwanis Club of Tonto Basin – $1,500 to Jamie Wells


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.