Local Women Honored At Soroptimist Banquet



Courtesy photo

The Soroptimists of Zane Grey Country recently presented awards to several area women. Reveiving awards were (from left) Diana James, Ana Wilson, Rebecca Warren, Pam Thomas and Abigail Silva. The women were recognized at the Annual Soroptmist Awards Banquet.

More than 40 people attended to support the club and the winners. Thomas was recognized with the Ruby Award, which is given to women who have spent many years working to improve the lives of women, either as an employee or volunteer. Thomas has served through both.

The Violet Richardson Award is given to a teen girl, between the ages of 14 and 17, who has demonstrated an understanding and compassion of people. Silva was selected due to her work with New Beginnings to receive this award.

The Women’s Opportunity Award is the signature award given by Soroptimist International of the Americas. This award is given to encourage women to continue with their educational studies so they may provide an improved lifestyle for themselves and their children. Three women were recognized this year for their accomplishments: Wilson, Warren and James. In total, $3,000 was given to the VRA and WOA winners.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.