Candidates File Papers For August Primary


All three seats on Gila County’s board of supervisors are up for election this year and candidates seeking those seats had to file their nominating papers Wednesday.

Also up for election are the county offices of judge, Superior Court Division 1; attorney; assessor; treasurer; school superintendent; recorder; and sheriff.

The terms of all of these county offices are from 2012 through 2016.

Filing were:

Tommie Cline Martin, Republican, for supervisor, District 1 (incumbent)

Hallie Overman Jackman, Independent, for supervisor, District 1

Michael Pastor, Democrat, for supervisor, District 2 (incumbent)

David Cook, Republican, for supervisor, District 2

Tim Humphrey, Republican, for supervisor, District 2

John D. Marcanti, Democrat, for supervisor, District 3

Ronnie O. McDaniel, Democrat, for supervisor, District 3

Marvin Mull Jr., Democrat, for supervisor, District 3

Peter Cahill, Democrat, for judge, Superior Court Division 1

Daisy Flores, Republican, for attorney (incumbent)

Bradley Beauchamp, Republican, for attorney

Craig Jones, Democrat, for sheriff

Adam Shepherd, Republican, for sheriff

Darrell Stubbs, Republican, for sheriff

Ray Van Buskirk, Democrat, for sheriff

Dale Hom, Democrat, for assessor (incumbent)

Deborah Hughes, Republican, for assessor

Nathan Morris, Republican, for assessor

Sadie Jo Tomerlin, Republican, for recorder (incumbent)

James “Mac” Feezor, Republican, for recorder

Mickie Nye, Democrat, for recorder

Linda O’Dell, Republican, for school superintendent (incumbent)

Debora Savage, Democrat, for treasurer (incumbent)

Don Ascoli, Republican, for treasurer

It is still possible for additional candidates to enter the fray; deadline for nominating petitions for write-in candidates is July 19.

The primary election is Tuesday, Aug. 28. Early voting begins Thursday, Aug. 2 and sample ballots will be mailed Friday, Aug. 17. To vote in the primary, residents must register by Monday, July 30.

The general election is Tuesday, Nov. 6. Early voting begins Thursday, Oct. 11. To participate in the general election, voters must be registered by Monday, Oct. 8.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.