Morris, Ernst Race For Ctp Laurels In Pmga Play

Photo by Andy Towle. |


Russ Morris and Tim Ernst are locked in a fierce toe-to-toe battle for bragging rights as the Payson Men’s Golf Association closest to the pin champion.

Currently, Morris leads the race with 10 CTP wins, and Ernst has eight.

In the PMGA’s most recent tournaments, the President’s Cup and Parson’s Cup played Aug. 22 and 29 at Payson Golf Course, Ernst managed two CTP wins and Morris had one.

All three were scored during the second round.

Ernst won on No. 2 (19 feet, 11 inches) and No. 17 (7 feet, 7 inches). Morris pocketed prize money on No. 14 (9 feet, 1-1/2 inches).

Ron Fischer (No. 5; 4 feet) and Ed Flores (No. 8; 1 foot, 1 inch) were also CTP winners.

During round one, Richard Harding emerged with two wins, taking prize money on No. 2 (21 feet, 7 inches) and No. 8 (5 feet, 1-1/2 inch).

Retired California high school football coach Gary Campbell (No. 5; 13 feet, 5-1/2 inches) was also a winner, as were Mike Anderson (No. 14; 5 feet, 1 inch) and Dave Rutter (No. 17; 4 feet, 3 inches).

In Parson’s Cup play, which is low gross scoring over two rounds, Jessie Smith took top honors at 144. With a 149, Ernst was second.

In low net President’s Cup play, Jack Proietto came out on top with a 130.

Campbell was second at 132 and Ken Althoff took third by posting a 135.

With a 136, Smith was fourth. Ernst came in fifth at 137.

During the two tournaments, the PMGA also hosted its annual putting championship. In the finals, Gary Rovetto edged Oscar Garcia, 2-up.

Ed McFall was named best dressed at the second round.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.