Men Golfers Shoot A Masters Blank


“What do we know,” asked Payson Men’s Golf Association member Herb Sherman after not a single club member picked first place-finishing Adam Scott or runner-up Angel Cabrera to win the 77th U.S. Masters played last week at Augusta National Golf Club.

Selecting the correct winner would have been a boon for PMGA members in their annual “Masters Low Net” formatted tournament played April 10 at Payson Golf Course.

In it, each player is asked to pick the U.S. Masters winner and the pro’s score is tabulated with the PMGA player’s card to determine the champion of the local tournament.

With no entrants choosing either Scott or Cabrera, Alex Armenta emerged victorious in the PMGA Masters fray finishing with a 66 to go along with his pick of Tiger Woods who finished at 283. The combined total of 349 was two strokes better than runner-up Jim Livingston, who shot a 68 at PGC. He too, chose Woods to finish with a combined 351.

Richard Harding actually shot the best score, a 65, in the local tournament, but picked Dustin Johnson to win the U.S. Masters. Johnson’s 287 combined with Harding’s tournament low score equaled a 352 and was good enough for a three-way tie for third place.

Oscar Garcia (71) and Gary Campbell (69) also carded scores of 352.

Garcia selected Jason Day (281) and Campbell picked Woods.

Larry Smith shot a 70 and was sixth when combined with his championship choice of Woods.

In closest-to-the-pin competition, Bill Shedd (No. 5; 10 feet, 3-1/2 inches), Doug Magnuson (No. 17; 6 feet, 6 inches), Armenta (No. 8; 9 feet, 1/2 inch), Harding (No. 14; 2 feet, 1 inch) and Sherman (No. 2; 34 feet, 11 inches) pocketed prize money.

On the links, again

On April 17, PMGA members returned to PGC for a low gross, low net by flights tournament.

In A flight low gross scoring, Terry Lindsey (77) was first and Larry Smith (78) second.

Also in the flight, Alex Armenta (65), was the low net champion and Chip Yeoman (67) the silver medalist.

In B flight low gross play, Dick Harding (82) took first and Doug Magnuson (92) was the second place finisher.

Mike Eilenfeldt (70) claimed first in low net scoring over runner-up Ed Bossert who also finished with a 70. First and second was eventually decided on a scorecard playoff.

In the red flight, in which scoring was low net only, Dave Rutter (62) swung to first and Don Gyde (63) was second.

Closest-to-the-pin competition turned into another scenario of what John Calderwood calls “double dipping.”

Which means a single player wins prize money on two different holes.

Oscar Garcia won on No. 17, with a tee shot that rolled to within 6 feet, 7 inches of an ace and on No. 8 was a winner at 9 feet, 11 inches.

Jim Dalgleish (No. 2; 4 feet, 2 inches), Jim Livingstone (No. 7; 3 feet, 7 inches) and Harding (No. 14; 9 feet, 11 inches) were also winners.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.