Like Comic, Morris Gets No Respect

Payson Golf Club

Photo by Andy Towle. |

Payson Golf Club


Longtime Payson Men’s Golf Association member Herb Sherman is comparing fellow PMGA member Russ Morris to Rodney Dangerfield saying both “get no respect.”

Of course many of us remember Dangerfield, the American comedian and actor, often uttering the catch phrase, but why is Morris not receiving any respect for being one of the finer local golfers?

It seems, Sherman — the PMGA spokesman— made a mistake in saying Tim Ernst was the 2012 closest-to-the-pin co-winner along with Terry Lindsey.

Actually, Morris was the 2012 co-winner and Ernst was the champion in 2011.

So, it’s understandable why Morris might have felt a little slighted when week two of the 2-Man Best Ball Tournament was played June 26 at Payson Golf Course.

But instead of pouting and crying over spilt Gatorade, he went out and picked up another closest-to-the-pin title by hitting to within 8 feet, 10-1/2 inches of the flag on No. 8.

Sherman says, after his fellow golfer learned he wasn’t getting any respect, he decided to go out and earn it “which he seems to be doing.”

Mike Eilenfeldt (No. 5; 10 feet, 2-1/2 inches), Chip Yeomans (8 feet, 10-1/2 inches), Ralph Lindo (No. 17; 7 feet, 11 inches) and Sherman (No. 2; 12 feet, 3 inches) were also CTP prize money winners.

Richard Harding won the “longest putt made” award sinking a 13 feet, 11-inch attempt on No. 9.

In the battle for day money, John Calderwood and Don Gyde were first at 59. Stan Eggan and Ed McFall scored a 60 to finish second.

With a 61, Mike McKee and Popeye Clay were third.

In the final tournament standings, Calderwood and Gyde emerged victorious carding an impressive 116.

With a 120, McKee and Clay were second.

Coming in at 121, Jack Greenshield and Lou Manganiello finished as bronze medalist.

Sill Egler and Bill Mullin posted a 122 to take fourth.

In fifth, with a 122 were Ron Fischer and Bill Shedd.

PMGA members return to Payson Golf Course July 10 for the first round of the Club Championship.

It will continue on July 17 with the second round and on July 24 with the finals.

Rounds two and three will be played in a low net format.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.