More Pmga ‘Double Dipping’


Payson Men’s Golf Association member Dave Rutter has earned fellow member Herb Sherman’s sometimes flattering honor of being a double dipper.

Rutter garnered the plaudit by pocketing prize money in two different contests during an PMGA-hosted “Low Net - Low Gross” formatted tournament played June 12 at Payson Golf Course.

Rutter won the association’s weekly “longest putt” challenge by sinking a 53-footer on No. 18. He also won prize money as C Flight low net champion carding a 63.

After noting Rutter had scooped up PMGA dough twice, Sherman deadpanned, “Double dipper by all means.”

Ed Bossert (No. 2; 23 feet, 11-1/2 inches), Gary Campbell (No. 5; 8 feet), Russ Morris (No. 14; 11 feet, 3-1/2 inches), Mike Eilenfledt (No. 17; 8 feet, 9 inches) and Sherman (No. 8; 8 feet, 9 inches) were closest-to-the-pin winners.

In A Flight play, Oscar Garcia took low gross laurels with a 75 and Campbell won low net at 66.

In B Flight, a 63 earned Eilenfledt a first place finish. With a 66, Harding was the low net winner.

In C Flight, Sil Egler was second in low net play with a 64.

Best ball fray

PMGA members returned to Payson Golf Course on June 19 for the round one of a Two-Man Best Ball tournament that continues with the second round tomorrow, June 26.

Round one turned into a hot bed of competition with three teams tying for first place with identical scores of 57.

With the dead knots, PMGA officials turned to scores on the back nine holes at PGC to break the ties.

Sil Egler and Bill Mullins posted a 25 on the back nine to take first place.

John Calderwood and Don Gyde finished at 27 and were relegated to second.

Richard Harding and Sherman fell to third with a 29 on the back nine.

In closest-to-the-pin competition, Tim Ernst cranked up the skills and moxie he showed last year in winning the club CTP championship by finishing closest on both No. 8 (6 feet, 2 inches) and No. 14 (5 feet, 10-1/2 inches).

“Another double dip,” clamored Sherman. “Last year’s champ is coming on strong.”

Gary Campbell (no. 5; 2 feet, 6 inches), Popeye Clay (No. 17; 3 feet, 11 inches) and Terry Lindsey (No. 2; 16 feet, 5-3/4 inches) were also prize money winners.

Oscar Garcia walked away with the tournament’s longest putt award sinking an 8-foot, 6-inch attempt on No. 18.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.