Ernst, Sherman Claim Pmga Titles


Tim Ernst fired a 70 to win the low gross championship in the Payson Men’s Golf Association Low Gross/Low Net Tournament at Payson Golf Course on Nov. 6. It was the final event of the year for the PMGA.

Ernst finished seven strokes ahead of runner-up Larry Smith, who shot 77. Alex Armenta (80) was third and Ken Althoff (82) fourth.

Herb Sherman won the low net crown with a 62. Ross Robertson (64) was second, Popeye Clay (66) third and Ron Fischer (67) fourth.

Don Gyde won longest putt by sinking it from 10 feet, nine inches on No. 9.

Closest-to-the-pin winners were: Dan Dorough (No. 2, 32 feet-2-1/2 inches), Terry Lindsey (No. 5, 5 feet-7 inches), Gary Vaplon (No. 8, 21 feet-1/2 inch), Popeye Clay (No. 14, 3 feet) and Larry Smith (No. 17, 6 feet-1/2 inch).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.