Smith, Cly Win State Qualifier


Jesse Smith and Virgil Cly won the championship flight in the Payson Golf Course Two-Man Scramble on Wednesday, Sept. 18. The event was a qualifier for the Arizona State Championship.

The duo posted a gross score of 64, with a 58.72 net to claim the $40 first prize.

Jack Proietto and Jerry McGuire placed first in the Gross and Net Flights with a 71 gross and a 63.12 net to win $40. Dan Dorough and Bill Mullins came in second with a 76 gross and a 58.40 net to take home $20.

Gary Campbell and Dick Harding won the senior flight and $40 with a 69 gross and 54.4 net, while Jim Dalgleish and Bob Clay placed second with a 73 gross and 55.68 net to walk away with $20.

Oscar Garcia came closest to the pin on No. 2, coming within nine feet, 1 inch. He won $14. Also earning that much in the same event on different holes were Richard Harding (No. 5, 7 feet, 1 inch), Mike Eilenfeldt (No. 8, 3-2 1/2), Russ Morris (No. 14, 11-1) and Frank Szakal (No. 17, 6-2).

Jesse Smith also won $14 for the longest putt on No. 9 (15-6).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.