Pmga Teams Competitive


It’s going to be a competitive year in the Payson Men’s Golf Association if the season-opening four-man scramble on March 12 is any indication.

Three teams all shot 63 to tie for first, with Jesse Smith, Doug Magnuson, Charles Brewer and Bill Mullins winning a scorecard playoff. The team of Jim Marshall, Mike Anderson, Don Pollock and Jim Dalgleish wound up second and Oscar Garcia, Popeye Clay and Keith Talley finished third. Taking fourth were Don Shepard, Mark Elsberry, Jerry McGuire and Bill Shedd.

Elsberry won the longest putt contest by hitting the cup from 5-feet 7-inches away on No. 9. Marshall was a double dipper, winning closest to the pin on both No. 2 (19-10) and No. 5 (7-0). The other closest-to-the-pin winners were: John Rikala (4-9) on No. 8, Mike McKee (1-1) on No. 14 and Dan Dorough (5-7) on No. 17.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.