Smith Edges Lindsey To Win Pmga Tournament


Larry Smith and Terry Lindsey both fired 71’s but Smith won the scorecard tiebreaker to claim the A Flight championship in the Payson Men’s Golf Association’s Individual Lo-Net Tournament on April 30 at Payson Golf Course. Tim Ernst was third with a 73 and Frank Szakel took low-gross honors with a 78.

Kevin Kelly won the B Flight crown with a 66. Mike Anderson was second with a 69 and Gary Campbell (70) third.

Mike Eilenfeldt fired a 63 to win the C Flight by seven strokes over runner-up Steve Vincent and third-place Ron Fischer, who both shot 70, with Vincent winning the scorecard tiebreaker.

Dennis Schwebs edged Ron Ressler for the D Flight title with a 65. Ressler carded a 66 and Ross Robertson shot 69 to take third.

Sil Engler won the longest putt by sinking it from 42 feet 6 inches on No. 18. Closest to the pin winners were: Dave Rutter (1 foot 8.5 inches on No. 2), Kevin Kelly (7-7 on No. 5), Steve Vincent (29-7 on No. 8), Herb Sherman (9-1 on No. 14) and Alex Armenta (3-5 on No. 17).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.