Almanac

Subscribe

Community Almanac Tuesday, December 6, 2016

School concerts As always, schools in the Rim Country will be filled with holiday music at Christmas concerts. The tentative schedule for the programs: Payson - Julia Randall Elementary, 6 p.m., third grade, 7 p.m., fourth grade, Tuesday, Dec. 6; Payson Elementary School, 5 p.m. and 6:30 p.m., Wednesday, Dec. 7; Rim Country Middle School/Payson High School Choral Concert, 6:30 p.m., Thursday, Dec. 8; Payson High School/Rim Country Middle School Band Concert, 6:30 p.m., Thursday, Dec. 15; guitar concert, 6:30 p.m., Friday, Dec. 16. All concerts for Payson schools are in the auditorium on the Payson High School campus.

Community Almanac Friday, December 2, 2016

One-day only job fair Whelan Security is growing and looking for bright and talented professionals to join its security team in Payson. It is hosting a hiring event today only, from 9 a.m. to noon, Friday, Dec. 2 at the Majestic Mountain Inn conference room. Come learn about employment with Whelan, the benefits offered, submit an application and interview. If you are interested in employment with Whelan but are not able to attend, please call 602-635-3077.

Community Almanac Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Book Fair The Julia Randall Elementary Book Fair takes place from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m., now through Dec. 2 in the JRE Library. It features books and more for children of all ages, including young adult readers. Plus it will have several days devoted to celebrating the mothers and fathers of the students. Muffins for Mom are featured Nov. 29 and 30, with Donuts for Dad on Dec. 1 and 2. There will be lots of books and fun-filled activities for the kids. For more information, please call JRE at 928-474-2353.

Community Almanac, Friday November 25, 2016

Swiss Village Lighting and Pine Festival of Lights The Swiss Village Annual Christmas Lighting begins at 5 p.m. Friday, Nov. 25. The event features a full carnival in the northern Swiss Village area with rides, vendors and giveaways. Come meet the Jolly old elf himself — Santa Claus at 6 p.m.

Community Almanac Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Turkey Tuesday Rim residents are invited to donate a turkey, non-perishable food items or cash from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Tuesday, Nov. 22 at Bashas’ in Payson.

Community Almanac Friday, November 17, 2016

Light parade, lighting contest deadlines The deadline for entries in the Electric Light Parade is today, Friday, Nov. 18 at the parks office; and to participate in the lighting contest entries must be received by 2 p.m., Friday, Dec. 2 at the chamber or Roundup office.

Community Almanac Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Blood drives Rim residents have a chance to participate in any one of three upcoming blood drives. The first is today, Tuesday, Nov. 15, from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. in the gym at the First Baptist Church of Pine.

Community Almanac Friday, November 11, 2016

Veterans Day program planned The Payson Patriotic Events Committee’s annual Veterans Day Tribute is at 11 a.m., Friday, Nov. 11 in the Payson High School Auditorium. This year the committee shall, once again, partner with the Longhorn Theatre and the Payson High School to present Veterans Day 2016.  This year, the U.S. Navy will be spotlighted (the Marines were the focus of last year’s event).

Community Almanac Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Election night watch party The Democrats of Payson will have an election night watch party at Denny’s, 312 S. Beeline Hwy., beginning at 6 p.m., Tuesday, Nov. 8. If you would like to share the moment, please call the Democratic Headquarters at 928-474-9414 between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. For additional information, please call Chris at 928-468-9669.

Community Almanac Friday, November 4, 2016

Payson Lions Estate Sale The Payson Lions Club will conduct another Estate Sale Friday and Saturday, Nov. 4 and 5 to raise funds for eye exams and glasses for those in need. The sale will take place at 206 N. Stagecoach Pass in Payson. Sales will run from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. each day. S

Community Almanac Friday, Tuesday November 1, 2016

See’s Candy The Soroptimist of Zane Grey Country again have See’s Candy available for sale at Western Village, 1104 S. Beeline Hwy., Payson. For special orders, call Jean at 928-474-6167.

Community Almanac Tuesday October 24, 2016

Wine and Cheese Party The Friends of Payson Parks & Recreation, Inc., plans a Wine and Cheese Party in combination with its general membership meeting and election of officers from 5:30 p.m. to 7 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 25 at the Payson Public Library meeting room, 325 N. McLane Road. The group will review past accomplishments and discuss plans and dreams for the future, such as a community center with basketball courts and swimming pool.

Community Almanac Friday, October 21, 2016

Flake staff visits Staff from the office of Senator Jeff Flake will be at the Senior Center, 514 W. Main St., from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m., Friday, Oct. 21. Flake’s staff is available to discuss issues Rim residents have.

Community Almanac Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Tea Party hears about ‘Enemies Within’ Trevor Loudon, New Zealand political activist, will preview and discuss his new documentary “Enemies Within” via DVD at the Payson Tea Party from 6 p.m. to 7:45 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 18 at Tiny’s Restaurant, 600 E. Hwy. 260. Hear about community unrest, attacks on police, border issues, what Europeans see, and why Arizona states rights are so important in the face of these realities. Call 928-951-6774 for more information.

Community Almanac Friday, October 14, 2016

Make and sign a Christmas card for U.S. active duty military personnel The Mogollon Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, and the Payson Girl Scouts invite Rim residents and visitors to join then in making and signing Christmas cards for U.S. active duty military personnel. The program is from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 15 at the Payson Public Library, 328 N. McLane Road. Hot chocolate and light snacks will be provided. For more information, please contact Mogollon Chapter Regent Kelly Oxborrow at 928-238-0058.

Previous