Photo detail

The Independent Redistricting Commission proposed (map right) new district lines for Arizona’s nine congressional seats, including a new seat added as a result of population growth. Northern Gila County would end up in District Four, along with Prescott and most of western Arizona. Southern Gila County would remain in District 1, along with Flagstaff, the Navajo Reservation and the eastern third of the state.

Stories this photo appears in:

Tease photo

Proposed state redistricting map splits Gila County in two

An independent redistricting commission established by voters has released a draft of new congressional districts that would split Gila County in half. The eight proposed district lines have also provoked a full-throated attack on the commission by top Republican officials statewide. The voters overhauled the redistricting process by creating a commission, whose members include three Republicans, three Democrats and one Independent. The key criteria the commission said it followed in drawing the district boundaries included protecting minority voting rights and creating as many competitive districts as possible.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.