Just a few days remain to nominate an educator for Gila County’s K-12 Teacher of the Year award.

Anyone may nominate a deserving teacher who has gone the extra mile to change the course of their students’ lives. The winner receives a $500 award, honorary plaque and recognition.

Professional educators from public and charter schools who have made an academic contribution to Gila County students in Globe, Miami, San Carlos, Hayden-Winkelman, Payson, Pine-Strawberry, Tonto Basin and Young/Pleasant Valley are eligible.

The deadline is April 30; forms are available at the Gila County School Superintendent of Schools office, 1400 E. Ash St. in Globe — or by calling staff at 928-402-8784.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Avoid obscene, hateful, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful.
Be Nice. No name-calling, racism, sexism or any sort of -ism degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article. Real names only!